Short Introduction

Hi all,

as some of you already know, a week ago I started my new position in Nokia and in this scope I will be acting as an interface between the Open Source community and the Nokia internals from the technical point of view to support Quim Gil in this role. With this entry I want to introduce myself and give some overview what I am actually planning to do.

My name is Daniel Wilms, coming from the RWTH Aachen, and I started working for Nokia in 2007 as a Trainee in Nokia Research Bochum. There I worked on a Python-based prototype for the Internet Tablets and some back-end web service implementations. In spring 2008 I came to Nokia Research Helsinki and worked on back- and front-end implementations for location based services (LBS) for mobile devices and wrote my Diploma Thesis on this topic.

The first week in the new team I used to find some topics where I can jump in and where I will be active in the future. The most important task for me is to support developers in any kind of technical questions and wishes and to support Quim in his work on that. Further I want to let you know what I am doing. Therefore, I want to use those blog entries frequently to share what I am working on and what is going on on the Nokia side. Last week in the sprint meeting I promised to take over some small parts in the repository management, and further, to work on a SSO-concept for the maemo.org components. Besides this I try to participate actively in an Open Source project. I am still looking around what could be interesting for me. As soon as I have decided and found something I will let you know. If anyone knows a project, which would need some support, preferably in Python, please let me know.

I’m looking forward to supporting you with needed information and being active in the community. If you have further questions don’t hesitate to contact me in IRC (danielwilms).

Daniel

10 Responses to “Short Introduction”


  1. 1 Valério March 10, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Welcome aboard Daniel :)

  2. 2 Zeeshan Ali March 11, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Welcome to the gang! We should meet-up at lunch someday (assuming you are at Ruoholahti/Helsinki office).

  3. 3 paul m March 11, 2009 at 4:39 am

    i think a really cool project would be to sync contacts with desktop, e.g. thunderbird, kde pim/kcontact, etc.

    • 4 danielwilms March 12, 2009 at 12:23 pm

      I’m not soooo sure…I think there are pretty well standards out there to export and import contacts quite nicely without problems (vcard), so I don’t know if the additional work would be worth it…but anyway, I will think about it and thx a lot for the suggestion and the interest!

  4. 5 Pinkypetals March 12, 2009 at 5:28 am

    Thanks for the great mobile news.

  5. 6 kbro March 13, 2009 at 1:27 am

    Any chance of getting the Roadmap updated? http://maemo.org/development/roadmap/ was last done in Oct 2007 if the changelog is to be believed.

    I’m in need of the fix for https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3387, which is targeted for Freemantle – or will there be an interim release on the 4.1.x line? The roadmap should tell me!

  6. 8 henri March 13, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Hello,

    We hope to see you at the “solutions Linux/Opensource” from march 31 to april 2d in Paris! Our questions will be

    1) what will be the next device from Nokia in the wifi-table range?

    2) what about Mer, the Opensource version of maemo??
    http://wiki.maemo.org/Mer

    We are waiting you at the Nokia stand!

    HL from Gentilly (FRANCE)

    • 9 danielwilms March 13, 2009 at 11:24 am

      Hi Henry,

      most likely I won’t be there, but well, I can answer you questions as far as possible ;)

      1) sorry, but you will have to be patient and follow the official announcements from Nokia-side. Sorry that I can’t give you more information.

      2) Mer is a completely community-driven project and not related to Nokia. So I cannot give you additional information, which you won’t find in the wiki.

      But thanks for asking. Feel free to ask always any maemo related question and I will try to get an answer.

      Cheers Daniel

  7. 10 Ciroip March 30, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Would be lovely to have a look at that “Python-based prototype” and know the specs received :)


Leave a Reply

